Please note that the programme is subject to change.

The event will start with a welcome registration on Sunday 22 May overlooking the Loch on the balcony of the Media Centre. This will be followed by dinner at 19:00 in the main campus cafeteria. The main conference sessions will start at 08:40 on Monday 23 May in the Talla Dhonaidh Chaimbeul Lecture Room and close at 10:30 on Thursday 26 May

Sunday 22 May Monday 23 May
Tuesday 24 May Wednesday 25 May
Thursday 26 May Poster Programme

Poster programme


P:01 Characterising fast electron transport in laser-solid interactions via high energy X-ray emission
Chris Armstrong, STFC Central Laser Facility, UK


P:02 Investigating radiation reaction on laser wakefield accelerated electrons
Christopher Baird, University of York, UK


P:03 Laser-driven X-ray and neutron source development for industrial applications of solid-foil plasma accelerators
Ceri Brenner, STFC Central Laser Facility, UK


P:04 Fast ignition using shock accelerated ions from the target corona
Alan Cairns, University of St Andrews, UK


P:05 Stability of trapped-ion orbits around dust in the plasma boundary
Richard Cameron, Imperial College London, UK


P:06 A fast chirplet transform for analysing wave activity in time-series
John Colvin, University of Warwick, UK


P:07 Modelling nonlinear electrostatic oscillations in plasmas
Declan Diver, University of Glasgow, UK


P:08 Microwave start-up of tokamak plasmas
Erasmus du Toit, University of York, UK


P:09 Multicomponent plasma expansion into vacuum with non-Maxwellian electrons
Ibrahem Elkamash, Queen's University Belfast, UK


P:10 Radiation pressure driven ion acceleration from shaped gas jet targets
Oliver Ettlinger, Imperial College London, UK


P:11 Quasi-stable injection channels in a wakefield accelerator
John Farmer, University of Düsseldorf, Germany

P:12 Correlating metastable-atom density, reduced electric field, and electron energy distribution in the early stages of a 1-torr argon discharge
James Franek, West Virginia University, USA

FP:13:The dusty solitary hydromagnetic wave
Joseph Gibson, Imperial College London, UK


P:14 Surface, Liquid and Vapour Phenomena in Electrical Discharge Formation in Saline Solutions
Bill Graham, Queen's University Belfast, UK


P:15 Explosive ballooning flux tubes in tokamaks
Christopher Ham, Culham Centre for Fusion Energy, UK


P:16 Liverpool Experimental Magnetised Plasma Impurity Research Apparatus (LEMPIRA)
Brandon Harris, University of Liverpool, UK


P:17 Statistically determined dispersion relations of magnetic field fluctuations in the terrestrial foreshock
Bogdan Hnat, University of Warwick, UK


P:18 The charging of non-spherical objects in a plasma
Joshua Holgate, Imperial College London, UK


P:19 Outline of a PhD project on the investigation of the isotope effects of the pedestal on JET
Laszlo Horvath, University of York, UK


P:20 Features in the ion emission of Cu, Al and C plasmas produced by ultrafast laser ablation
Mossy Kelly, Dublin City University, Ireland 


P:21 Solitary structures with ion and electron thermal anisotropy
Murchana Khusroo, Gauhati University, India


P:22 Terahertz radiation from gas ionization irradiated by intense Laguerre-Gaussian laser pulses
Feiyu Li, University of Strathclyde, UK 


P:23 Measurement of the charge on an isolated probe in a non-thermal equilibrium plasma at atmospheric pressure
Paul Maguire, University of Ulster, UK


P:24 Laser plasma effects in water
Thomas Morgan, Wesleyan University, USA


P:25 Image Plate and Scanner Characterisation
Margaret Notley, STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK


P:26 Hydrodynamics driven by short-pulse laser plasma interactions
John Pasley, University of York, UK


P:27 Significance of negative axial wavenumbers in auroral cyclotron maser emissions
Alan Phelps, University of Strathclyde, UK


P:28 Power balance in microwave powered HID lamps
Monica Santos, Ceravision, UK


P:29 Optical generation of multi-component plasma with Gaussian optics, axicons, and axilenses
Paul Scherkl, University of Strathclyde, UK


P:30 Generation of warm dense matter by isochoric heating of a Ti-wire
Andreas Schönlein, Goethe University, Germany


P:31 Plasma optical modulators for intense lasers
Zheng-Ming Sheng, University of Strathclyde, UK


P:32 Electrostatic electron cyclotron instabilities near the upper hybrid layer
David Speirs, University of Strathclyde, UK


P:33 The role of plasma instabilities in the onset of detachment in the York Linear Plasma Device
Hannah Willett, University of York, UK


P:34 Ellipsoidal plasma mirror focusing of high power laser pulse to ultra-high intensities
Robbie Wilson, University of Strathclyde, UK 


P:35 Surface and volume mode coupling experiments for high power mm-wave sources
Amy MacLachlan, University of Strathclyde, UK


P:36 Plasma dynamics at the surface interface in radio frequency discharges
Martin Blake, University of York, UK


P:37 Analysis of inductor parameters in inductive discharge of radio-frequency ion thrusters
Alexey Shishkin, Moscow State University


P:38 K-edge shift under different plasma environments
Rachael Irwin, Queen’s University Belfast, UK


P:39 OAM effects in relativistic laser plasma interactions
Yin Shi, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Key dates

  • Abstract submission deadline extended:
    22 February 2016
  • Early registration deadline:
    25 April 2016
  • Registration deadline:
    4 May 2016


Powered by Eventsforce